Seriously. Freckles + Sun = Cancer

 

I have a lot of freckles.

 

I enjoyed my time in the sun in high school and college a few too many times for too long.

 

I have Skin Cancer.

 

The not-so-scary kind.

 

If that really exists.

 

I’ve had a “pimple” type spot on my middle chest for a while. It would occasionally become irritated and itchy.  It didn’t go away. It got bigger, but only a tad bit. I may have not noticed it if I wasn’t so crazy visual.

 

In the back of my mind, I kept hearing “Fair skin people are always recommended to have a regular dermatologist.”  I knew this and had already been thinking it might be time.  I’m not getting younger. And, let’s be honest, I have more speckles then I can keep track of.  🙂

 

So, I mentioned it to my regular doctor and she gave me a recommendation.  It took over 6 months to get in.  Hmmm….guess there is a shortage if anyone is in medical school looking for a specialty.

 

My doctor ~ BEST EVER, btw ~ was amazing.  So nice, informative, efficient & polite.

 

Did I mention I have a LOT of freckles, moles and “age spots? Well, he commented.  Yes, he earned his money.

 

3 biospies later….

 


Basal-Cell Carcinoma
skin cancer, is the most common cancer. It rarely metastasizes or kills. However, because it can cause significant destruction and disfigurement by invading surrounding tissues, it is still considered malignant. ~ Wikipedia

 

1 was fully removed in the biosy so it will be watched.

 

1 was “nothing”.

 

1 is in need of removal.

 

“Off to the plastic surgeon I go.”

Never thought I would say that!

 

One this is for sure… You must LOVE yourself before you can LOVE anything or anyone else.

 

Take care of yourself.

 

What do you LOVE?

 

Leave a Reply

